Honors English I Extra Credit: Recommend a book

Here is your opportunity to do extra credit this six weeks! It’s the easiest it has ever been! Let’s get excited about reading. This is a great way to share your favorite books with your classmates…and the rest of the blogosphere! Comment here on this post, and tell everyone a little about the book of your choice. I’m going to make the first recommendation, so you can follow my format if you’d like. Remember, it’s a recommendation, not a summary; don’t give away the plot. What were the strong  points? Who might like it? Who might not?  Feel free to join in a conversation and comment on other people’s recommendations as well. Of course, the guidelines here are the same as anywhere, be considerate and think about your words before submitting them.(All comments do await my moderation–just in case, so you won’t see them instantly.)

The more involved you are, the more credit you get.

“How much extra credit?” you ask.

“Up to 40 points on a major exam,” I reply.

“Holy cow! That’s amazing!” you exclaim.

“I know,” I nod and answer.

So to get you started, here is my recommendation for a book I’m reading right now:

Coldest Girl in Coldtown coverI’m reading a book I picked up in Asheville a few weeks ago, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. You may recognize Holly Black’s name from her work as the author of The Spiderwick Chronicles.  She has aimed for older teens as her audience of this book, so if you felt you had outgrown her, give this one a try.

I don’t want to give away much plot, but the premise is that vampirism has spread throughout much of the world. In order to contain it, those who are vampires or who have become “infected” are quarantined in Coldtowns. The main character of this book is Tana, an ordinary teen whose life is turned upside down when she wakes up surrounded by corpses after a party. (Talk about somewhere you wouldn’t want to get caught dead!) This begins her journey with an infected former boyfriend and a vampire to the world’s most famous Coldtown.

I love this book because the characters are so well-drawn. I immediately cared about what would happen to Tana and her somewhat irritating ex-boyfriend. I was also intrigued by the vampire Gavriel, who is both frightening and fascinating– but never sparkles!

This book also started out with a bang; there was no wasted time since the background is given to the reader in flashbacks. Holly Black is, as always, a great writer who handles dialog expertly.

If you have ever read and enjoyed a vampire novel, I recommend this one to you. A question that popped into my head as I was writing my review was, “Will guys like it?” I think it has potential. It’s very un-Twilight! (I did not care for those books.)

OK, guys, there is my recommendation! Now give us all yours!

154 thoughts on “Honors English I Extra Credit: Recommend a book

  1. This is a little late, but I did the wrong extra credit. But I would recommend the Harry Potter series. The book is about this boy who had his parents killed by an evil wizard named Voldemort. When he tried to kill Harry Potter it didn’t work, and left a lightning symbol on his forehead. When it got to the news, he was very famous, and almost everyone in the wizard world new about him. Then i giant named Hagred took him to the doorsteps of his relatives. They were very mean to him, especially the son, and he lived under the staircase. Since his parents were wizards, he wanted to be on too, and attend Hogwarts. But the dad didn’t like that. Finally he went to Hogwarts, and learned about the wizard world, and made friends named Ron, and Hermione. This book is very good, and I couldn’t set the book down. I recommend this book to anyone, even though almost everyone has read this, if you are wanting an amazing book to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I recommend Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I read this book back when I was at pi beta phi. This is a fictional story about a kid named Ender Wiggen who is a third child in a family of geniuses and is recruited by the international military force. They need Ender because aliens “Invaded” earth and the military wants to hunt the aliens down and destroy them. This book is full of suspense, action and mystery and I recommend this book to everybody.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved this book. My husband recommended it to me many years ago, and at first, I just started it because he liked it, but by halfway through, I was ignoring him to read it!

      And WOW what an ending!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

